Storage…

Ran into a very good article this morning from Ars Technica titled “Virtualization in the trenches with VMware, pt 2″. Storage issues are a very common problem that IT folks run into, especially when dealing with lots and lots of data and trying to get the right balance between price/performance. Ars did a great write up here, detailing and explaining variables that need to be thoroughly scruntinized for each office. I like how they’re talking about 10GigE when I just came back from an office that is still a wired Cat3 network. Yes folks, that’s Cat3. Thankfully I was brought in to help them manage the project for their massive overhaul.

Hmmmmm, I wonder if I’ll get approved for RAID-0 SSD drives for my servers soon 🙂 

Leave a Reply

